S44
Marcel Breuer

S44
A place for the good things in life

What should a shelf do other than to store things? Books, objects, memories. This was exactly what Marcel Breuer developed the S44 for. The four height-adjustable shelves are supported by a pair of chrome-plated tubular steel columns on wide-set feet. Clear and simple. Above all, its construction is instantly comprehensible. The height of the shelves can be adjusted with supports; optionally, a shelf can be added in ash or lacquered oak veneer as well as chrome bookends. What Marcel Breuer developed in 1932 for the Clarté House in Geneva is a declaration of love for the things in life that surround us and find a place on these shelves.

With a width of 140 centimetres and a height of 121 centimetres the shelf is ideal for office landscapes that can do without heavy room dividers, but confidently embrace light and air as design elements.

Its simple, meticulously designed appearance is a consequence of this way of thinking. “The objects have different appearances as a result of their different functions,” Breuer wrote. Together they give rise to our style. This is exactly what you can experience with the S44. The materials and their joining are precisely discernible, nothing is superfluous or out of place. This is how classics are born that still endure today and will continue to inspire us tomorrow.

Product info
Dimensions

Perfection of construction and detail. Of course, the first thing we associate with Bauhaus master Marcel Breuer is one material: tubular steel. And one principle: the cantilever chair, which sparked modern furniture design. “Humankind was freed from the tethers of rigid sitting to enjoy the freedom of the floating seat. The cantilever chair was a symbol of its time.” But this does not really do justice to Marcel Lajos (“Lajkó”) Breuer (1902-1981). What he really pursued was research into the essence of objects: what should, what can a modern piece of furniture do today, was the Bauhaus question.

In 1925, Breuer became head of the furniture workshop in Dessau as a “junior master”. The year before, he had already postulated his definition of contemporary furniture. Although he attached great importance to details, Breuer favoured the precision of thinking over formal aspects. “There is the perfection of construction and detail, along with and in contrast to simplicity and generosity in form and use,” he wrote in an essay outlining his philosophy.

His role in popularising tubular steel for furniture design may also be due to his being one of the first to realise how dynamic our lives had become, demanding equally light and flexible solutions. The cycling enthusiast also embraced the latest trends in architecture, industry and design for a new zeitgeist. “I have specifically chosen metal for these pieces of furniture to achieve the characteristics of modern spatial elements,” explained Breuer. “The heavy upholstery of a comfortable armchair has been replaced by tightly stretched fabric surfaces and a few lightweight springy cylindrical brackets.”

In addition, the construction was no longer hidden, but flashing chrome became a visible part of the design. Cantilever chairs were bolted, not welded, functions stacked and colour-coded. The result was a dematerialised floating appearance and a new spirit of space. The cantilever chair meant a liberation from the thousand-year-old model of rigid throne-like sitting. It was the implementation of the functional, kinetic and constructive counter-principle. This kinetic line, the dawn of the modern era, can still be traced to the young Bauhaus designers today.

S44
Marcel Breuer

S44
Ein Ort für die guten Dinge des Lebens

Was soll ein Regal anderes als Tragen? Bücher, Objekte, Erinnerungen. Genau dafür hat Marcel Breuer das S44 entwickelt. Die vier höhenverstellbaren Fachböden werden von einem Paar verchromter Stahlrohrstangen getragen, deren Füße breitbeinig nach außen schwingen. Einfach und klar.

Vor allem aber ist ihre Konstruktion sofort nachvollziehbar. Die Regalbretter lassen sich durch feststellbare Bodenträger in unterschiedliche Höhen bringen, optional gibt es einen zusätzlichen Fachboden in Esche oder Eiche furniert und decklackiert sowie verchromte Bücherstützen.

Was Marcel Breuer 1932 für das Haus Clarté in Genf entwickelte, ist eine Liebeserklärung an die Dinge des Lebens, die uns umgeben und hier ihren Ort finden. Das 140 Zentimeter breite und gerade 121 Zentimeter hohe Regal ist ideal für Bürolandschaften, die sich nicht durch schwere Raumteiler belasten wollen, sondern Licht und Luft als Gestaltungselemente souverän einbeziehen. Die einfache, durchdachte Erscheinung ist eine Konsequenz ebensolchen Denkens. „Die Gegenstände bekommen ihre verschiedenen Funktionen nach verschiedenen Erscheinungen“, schrieb Breuer. Zusammen ergäben sie unseren Stil. Genau das ist bei dem S44 zu erleben. Die Materialien und ihre Fügung sind präzise ablesbar, hier scheint kein Gramm zu viel oder an der falschen Stelle. So entstehen Klassiker, die heute Bestand haben und auch morgen noch begeistern.

Produktinfo
Maße

Natürlich verbinden wir den Bauhaus-Meister Marcel Breuer zuvorderst mit einem Werkstoff: Stahlrohr. Und einem Prinzip: dem Kragstuhl, der als Initialzündung modernen Möbelbaus diente. „Die Entfesselung des Menschen vom starren Sitz wich der Entfesselung auf den schwebenden Sitz. Der Kragstuhl wurde zum Zeitsymbol.“ Doch damit werden wir Marcel Lajos („Lajkó“) Breuer (1902-1981) nicht gerecht. Der Gestalter betrieb tatsächlich „Wesensforschung“: Was soll, was kann ein modernes Möbel heute leisten, war die Frage des Bauhauses. 1925 wurde Breuer als „Jungmeister“ Leiter der Möbelwerkstatt in Dessau. Schon im Jahr zuvor formulierte er, was er unter zeitgemäßer Einrichtung verstand.

Breuer ging es nicht ums Formale, auch wenn er höchsten Wert auf Details legte, ihm ging es um gedankliche Präzision. „Es gibt die Perfektion von Konstruktion und Detail, zusammen mit und im Gegensatz zur Einfachheit und Großzügigkeit in Form und Gebrauch“, schrieb er in einem Grundsatzessay.

Dass er dem Stahlrohr zum Durchbruch im Möbelbau verhalf, mag auch daran liegen, dass er als einer der ersten erkannte, dass unser Leben dynamischer geworden war und ebenso leichte wie bewegliche Lösungen verlangte. Der begeisterte Radsportfan nutzte zugleich das Modernste, was Architektur, Industrie und Gestaltung aufbringen konnten, für einen neuen Zeitgeist. „Ich habe für diese Möbel Metall gewählt, um die Eigenschaften moderner Raumelemente zu erreichen“, erklärte Breuer. „Die schwere Polsterung eines bequemen Sessels ist durch die straff gespannte Stofffläche und einige leicht dimensionierte, federnde Rohrbügel ersetzt.“ Dazu gehörte auch, dass die Konstruktion nicht mehr versteckt wurde, sondern chromblitzender Teil der Erscheinung war.

Kragstühle wurden geschraubt, nicht geschweißt, Funktionen gestapelt und farblich gefasst. Das Ergebnis waren entmaterialisiertes Schweben und ein neuer Geist im Raum. Der Kragstuhl stellte eine Befreiung vom jahrtausendealten Thronmodell des steifen Sitzens dar. Er war das umgesetzte funktionelle, kinetische und konstruktive Gegenprinzip. Diese kinetische Linie, der Aufbruch der Moderne, ist heute bis zu den jungen Bauhaus-Gestaltern nachvollziehbar.