K5
Thomas Schnur

K5
Still floating or already flying?

 

Thomas Schnur’s new side table is based on a constructive idea. Thanks to its light, organic shape, it adapts to new uses in next to no time. Some say it looks like an insect, while others compare it rather to a vertebrate. Either way, the new K5 by Thomas Schnur is clearly a member of the well-loved side creature family. 

 

The design that looks so light and easy took a long time to develop. “The constructive idea should permeate the piece of furniture.” This design approach, reminiscent of the “constructor” Jean Prouvé, also inspired Thomas Schnur. The young designer visited the Cantilever Chair Museum in Lauenförde for the first time years ago. “I was electrified by the pioneering spirit of Stefan Wewerka and Jean Prouvé.” For Schnur this was the inspiration and motivation to develop something of his own. “The underlying constructive idea is immediately apparent in the K5 table. Tubular steel penetrates the space as a line, its two folded surfaces give the table stability while supporting the round tabletop.”

Understanding furniture is a central factor for Thomas Schnur. The trained carpenter only believes in what he can touch and try out. “I acquired this down-to-earth nature in my home village.” In the K5, he has created a constructive piece of furniture that Tecta produces in its own factory and in three different sizes. A nesting table that evokes Prouvé’s bent steel furniture and effortlessly adapts to any use with its light, organic shape. Its steel body is welded and powder-coated, making it suitable both for indoors and outdoors

K5A

K5B

K5C

Thomas Schnur, born in 1983, trained as a carpenter and then studied product design at Aachen University of Applied Sciences. During his studies he worked for Mathieu Lehanneur in Paris, among others, and studied at the École Supérieure d’Art et Design de Saint Étienne. His works have been featured at numerous national and international design exhibitions: from imm Cologne to Maison et Objet in Paris and Salone del Mobile in Milan.

Thomas Schnur has been teaching at the ecosign design academy in Cologne since 2016. His aim is not only to design products, but also to realise them with his students. “I see this as a contrast to the kind of teaching that focuses increasingly on designing on your computer nowadays.” In 2017 he published the book Common Things, which was presented at the exhibition of the same name in Munich, Cologne and Leipzig. For his latest chair design, a stackable wooden chair, he received the German Design Award 2019.

K5
Thomas Schnur

K5
Schwebt er oder fliegt er schon?

Der neue Beistelltisch von Thomas Schnur ist von einer konstruktiven Idee durchdrungen. Mit seiner leichten, organischen Form findet er im Handumdrehen neue Einsatzgebiete. Manche erinnert er an ein Insekt, die anderen neigen zum Wirbeltier. Beides passt, denn der neue K5 von Thomas Schnur gehört eindeutig zur Kategorie der sympathischen Beistell-Wesen.

Was so leicht daher kommt, folgt einer langen Entstehungsgeschichte. „Die konstruktive Idee soll das Möbelstück durchdringen“. Dieser Gestaltungsansatz, der an den Konstrukteur Jean Prouvé erinnert, beflügelte auch Thomas Schnur. Der junge Gestalter besuchte vor Jahren erstmals das Kragstuhlmuseum in Lauenförde. „Ich war damals elektrisiert vom Pioniergeist eines Stefan Wewerka oder Jean Prouvé.“ Für Schnur Antrieb und Aufgabe zugleich, etwas Eigenes zu entwickeln. „Der konstruktive Grundgedanke stellt sich bei dem Tisch K5 sofort ein. Das Stahlrohr durchdringt als Linie den Raum, die beiden gefalteten Flächen geben dem Tisch Stand und halten seine runde Platte.“

Das Begreifen von Möbeln ist für Thomas Schnur ein zentrales Element. Den ausgebildeten Tischler überzeugt nur, was er anfassen und austesten kann. „Diese Bodenständigkeit wurde mir in meinem Heimatdorf mitgegeben.“ Entwickelt hat er mit K5 ein konstruktives Möbelstück, das bei Tecta in eigener Manufaktur und drei unterschiedlichen Größen gefertigt wird. Ein Satztisch, der an die geformten Stahlmöbel von Prouvé erinnert und mit seiner leichten, organischen Form schnell zum Einsatz kommt. Der Stahl-Korpus wird geschweißt, pulverbeschichtet und ist dadurch fürs Innen wie Außen geeignet.

K5A

K5B

K5C

Thomas Schnur, geboren 1983, absolvierte eine Ausbildung zum Tischler und studierte danach Produktdesign an der Fachhochschule Aachen. Während seiner Studienzeit arbeitete er unter anderem für Mathieu Lehanneur in Paris und studierte an der École Supérieure d’Art et Design de Saint Étienne. Seine Arbeiten wurden auf zahlreichen nationalen und Internationalen Design-Plattformen präsentiert: von der imm Cologne über Maison et Objet in Paris bis zum Salone del Mobile in Mailand.

Thomas Schnur unterrichtet seit 2016 an der Design Akademie ecosign in Köln. Sein Anliegen ist, Produkte nicht nur zu gestalten, sondern diese mit den Studenten auch umzusetzen. „Das betrachte ich als Kontrast zu der Form von Lehre, die sich heute zunehmend mit der Gestaltung am Computer beschäftigt.“ 2017 veröffentliche er das Buch „Common Things“, welches mit der gleichnamigen Ausstellung in München, Köln und Leipzig präsentiert wurde. Für seinen neusten Stuhlentwurf, einen stapelbaren Holzstuhl, wurde er mit dem German Design Award 2019 ausgezeichnet.