D51
Walter Gropius

D51
Architecture; linear and constructive

Gropius’ D51 chair from 1922/23, with its backward-jutting armrests and straight back, looks pretty austere. “Straighten up,” it seems to whisper to the sitter. Its four wooden legs are arranged at an offset. The rear legs support the backrest, the front legs sweep freely into the room together with the protruding armrests. This is a small piece of architecture created by Walter Gropius, linear and constructive. The chair and the D51-2 and D51-3 furniture series it gave rise to are a perfect match for the minimal architecture of the Fagus factory with its typical unsupported corner. This factory was a cradle of modernism.

When Walter Gropius was commissioned to design the Fagus factory in the small town of Alfeld an der Leine in Lower Saxony in 1911, nobody would have imagined that he would make history. But the architect did and simultaneously revolutionised the world of construction. Instead of choosing a historistic façade, he surrounded the production hall with a light curtain wall. The walls dissolved into large glass surfaces. Daylight, sun and air, the triad of modernity, are the driving forces towards a liberated architecture that seeks its rules solely in the necessities of the building project.

As it happened, over the course of time, this story was interwoven with Tecta’s story. Axel Bruchhäuser, partner of the company since 1972 and an important witness of the Bauhaus generation, recalls: “We sat in the foyer on chairs by Walter Gropius, of which the owners knew nothing at all. During my research I discovered a drawing of the chairs and got in touch with Ise Gropius in the USA for the first time. We asked her if we could produce this chair under licence and her reply was an enthusiastic: yes, that would be possible.”

The Fagus factory has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2011. But its corresponding interiors communicated the idea of the dawn of modernism to the world long before that.

product info

Founder and thinker of the Bauhaus philosophy. The architect and founder of the Bauhaus, Walter Gropius (1883-1969), mocked traditional architecture as “salon art”. He descended from a family of great builders: his great uncle was Martin Gropius. Walter Gropius abandoned his architectural studies and initially joined the office of Peter Behrens – as had, incidentally, Adolf Meyer, Mies van der Rohe and Le Corbusier. A short time later, Gropius founded what we now call modernism – a major break from and with the conventions of the past.

One key feature was that he did not reject the principles of the industrial age – standardisation and prototypes – but made them productive tools for his work. “A resolute affirmation of the living environment of machines and vehicles,” wrote the Bauhaus director in 1926, who believed that “the creation of standard types for all practical commodities of everyday use is a social necessity.”

This spirit not only gave rise to the Fagus factory as an icon of modern architecture and the Dessau Bauhaus, but also laid the foundations of what is still a driving force for us today. “The objective of creating a set of standard prototypes which meet all the demands of economy, technology, and form, requires the selection of the best, most versatile, and most thoroughly educated men who are well grounded in workshop experience and who are imbued with an exact knowledge of the design elements of form and mechanics and their underlying laws.”

By founding the Bauhaus, Gropius launched a new school of thought, opposing the traditional architecture of which he was so critical. In 1919 Gropius was appointed director of the Grand Ducal Saxon School of Arts and Crafts in Weimar, Thuringia, and named the new school “State Bauhaus Weimar”.

Gropius’ driving vision was not only to construct a “building of the future” and a holistic work of art, but also the highly modern approach of maintaining the distinction between apprentice and master while intermeshing the two teachings in a novel manner. To work across the disciplines, with an interdisciplinary approach in the spirit of research and experimentation.

Gropius also knew how to translate architectural concepts into furniture design, exemplified by his unique penetration of volume and linearity that characterises many of his works. Walter Gropius directed the Bauhaus until its closure in 1933, emigrated to England in 1934 and to Cambridge, USA, in 1937 to teach as professor of architecture at Harvard University.

D51
Walter Gropius

D51
Architektur; gerade und konstruktiv

Sessel für das Vestibül des Fagus-Werkes, Alfeld, 1910. Streng sieht er aus, der Gropius-Armlehnstuhl D51 von 1922/23, mit seinen nach hinten auskragenden Armlehnen und dem geraden Rücken. „Haltung“, scheint er seinen Besitzern zuzuflüstern. Vier hölzerne Beine sind perspektivisch versetzt angeordnet. Die hinteren tragen die Rückenlehne, die vorderen schwingen mitsamt der ausladenden Armlehne frei in den Raum. Ein kleines Stück Architektur hat Walter Gropius geschaffen, gerade und konstruktiv. Der Stuhl und seine daraus abgeleitete Möbelserie D51-2 und D51-3 passen perfekt zur klaren Architektur des Fagus-Werks mit seiner typischen, stützenlosen Ecke.

Mit dieser Fabrik begann die Moderne. Als Walter Gropius 1911 in der niedersächsischen Kleinstadt Alfeld an der Leine den Auftrag erhielt, die Fagus-Werke neu zu gestalten, war noch nicht ausgemacht, dass er damit Geschichte schreiben würde.

Der Architekt tat es und revolutionierte zugleich das Bauen. Statt historistischem Dekor ließ er eine leichte Vorhangfassade um die Produktionshalle fließen. Wände lösten sich in große Glasflächen auf. Licht, Luft und Sonne, die Trias der Moderne, ist hier Antrieb zu einer befreiten Architektur, die sich ihre Regeln einzig nach den Notwendigkeiten der Bauaufgabe sucht.

Wie es die Zeitläufte wollten, ist diese Geschichte verwoben mit der von TECTA. Axel Bruchhäuser, seit 1972 Gesellschafter der Firma und wichtiger Zeitzeuge der Bauhausgeneration, erinnert sich: „Wir saßen im Foyer auf Stühlen von Walter Gropius, von denen die Inhaber gar nichts wussten. Bei Recherchen entdeckte ich dann eine Zeichnung der Stühle und daraus entstand der erste Kontakt zu Ise Gropius in den USA. Wir fragten, ob wir diesen Stuhl in Lizenz herstellen dürfen und sie schrieb begeistert zurück, jawohl, das wäre möglich.“

Seit 2011 ist die Fagus-Fabrik UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe. Ihre korrespondierende Innenausstattung trug die Idee vom Aufbruch der Moderne jedoch schon weit vorher in die Welt.

Produktinfo

Gründer und Denker der Bauhaus-Idee. Der Architekt und Gründer des Bauhauses, Walter Gropius (1883-1969), verspottete die überkommene Architektur gerne als „Salonkunst“. Er stammte selbst aus einer Familie großer Baumeister: Martin Gropius war sein Großonkel. Walter Gropius brach sein Architekturtudium ab und  lernte zunächst im Büro von Peter Behrens – wie übrigens auch Adolf Meyer, Mies van der Rohe oder Le Corbusier. In kurzer Folge schuf Gropius das, was wir heute Moderne nennen – einen entschiedenen Bruch von und mit den Konventionen der Vergangenheit.

Dazu zählte, dass er die Prinzipien des Maschinenzeitalters – Typisierung und Standardisierung – nicht etwa ablehnte, sondern in seiner Gestaltung produktiv machte. „Entschlossene Bejahung der lebendigen Umwelt der Maschinen und Fahrzeuge“, schrieb der Bauhausdirektor 1926 und sah in der „Schaffung von Typen für die nützlichen Gegenstände des täglichen Gebrauchs eine soziale Notwendigkeit.“

Aus diesem Geist entstand nicht nur das Fagus-Werk als Ikone modernen Bauens und das Dessauer Bauhaus, hier wurden die Grundlagen dessen gelegt, was uns heute noch antreibt. „Das Ziel, typische Modelle zu schaffen, die alle wirtschaftlichen, technischen und formalen Forderungen erfüllen, verlangt eine Auslese bester, umfassend gebildeter Köpfe, die in gründlicher Werkpraxis wie in exaktem Wissen der formalen und mechanischen Gestaltungselemente und ihrer Aufbaugesetze geschult sind.“

Seiner kritischen Haltung zur traditionellen Baukunst konnte er mit der Bauhaus-Gründung eine neue Denkschule entgegen setzen. 1919 wurde Gropius zum Direktor der Großherzoglich-Sächsischen Hochschule für Bildende Kunst im thüringischen Weimar ernannt und gab der neuen Schule den Namen „Staatliches Bauhaus in Weimar“.

Die Vision, die Gropius trieb, war nicht allein die Errichtung eines „Baus der Zukunft“ und ein Gesamtkunstwerk, sondern der höchst moderne Ansatz die Einteilung von Lehrling und Meister zwar einzuhalten, aber die beiden Lehren neu zu verweben. Über die Disziplinen hinweg zu arbeiten, interdisziplinär und im Geist des Forschens und Experimentierens.

So verstand es Gropius ebenso, die  Ideen aus der Architektur in die Gestaltung von Möbeln zu übertragen, etwa die einzigartige Durchdringung von Volumen und Linearität, die viele seiner Entwürfe auszeichnet. Walter Gropius führte das Bauhaus bis zu seiner Schließung 1933, emigrierte 1934 nach England und 1937 nach Cambridge in die USA, um als Professor für Architektur an der Harvard University zu lehren.