D7K
Armchair & folding chair
Klemens Grund
2017

Tecta D7K

»What attracts me is the sculptural and plastic element,” says Klemens Grund.

A chair is an object that is popular with designers despite the challenges it poses. Its proportions are similar to those of the human body. “It is figurativeand always requires the same conditions. What attracts me is the sculptural andplastic element,” says Klemens Grund.

Grund came up with the idea of folding chair D7K while he was working for thearchitect Peter Zumthor. There he designed a folding chair with armrests that was also flexible. A piece of furniture you can put aside and offer your guests without it being a make shift solution.

The realisation of the D7 was a good piece of teamwork: In Martin Bereuter of Carpentry Bereuter in Bregenzer Wald the designer found a formidable partner for making his chair. Following the tradition of the New Vorarlberg School, Tectahas now also commissioned master carpenter Bereuter to make this delicatepiece of furniture. Today, Bregenzer Wald is already well-known for its craftsmanship even beyond the borders of Vorarlberg. The region stands for authenticmaterials, for bringing together past and future, and for its design idiom and construction.

Tecta D7K Hamburg-2018
Tecta D7K Stuhl

D7K & D7

Hence, the new D7 chair by Klemens Grund reflects Tecta’s way of thinking and constructing. It is kinetically foldable, modifiable, but there is also a rigidversion. Klemens Grund concealed the brass folding mechanism almost invisiblyin the back leg, rather as an attractive detail than out of technical necessity.“Most people are surprised that it is foldable, as if it were some kind of magictrick,” says the designer. And there is another hallmark of the D7 that demonstratesits affinity with Tecta: Like folding chair D4 by Marcel Breuer (of 1927), once folded and stacked against the wall, the D7 has an almost sculptural quality.

Material & Colour

Frame:
beech blacklacquered, oak oiled or stained

Cushion:
Felt cushion, graying

Dimensions (cm)

Width: 65
Depth: 50
Height of backrest: 80

Klemens Grund (*1982) is Master carpenter. He studied design after completinghis carpentry training. He worked with Peter Zumthor. The architectural constructive philosophy that is the hallmark of Tecta’s collection is also reflected in the work of Klemens Grund.

See all Grund-products

Photos: Thomas Ternes, Constantin Meyer

D7K und D7
Faltstuhl und Stuhl
Klemens Grund
2017

Tecta D7K

»Das Skulpturale und Plastische reizt mich«, sagt Klemens Grund.

Ein Stuhl ist für einen Designer ein beliebtes, aber herausforderndes Objekt. Er hat eine Proportion, die dem Menschen ähnlich ist. »Er ist figürlich und fordert immer die gleichen Bedingungen. Das Skulpturale und Plastische reizt mich«, sagt Klemens Grund.

Die Idee zu dem faltbaren Stuhl D7K hatte Grund, als er im Büro des Architekten Peter Zumthor arbeitete. So entstand der Entwurf zu einem Stuhl, der faltbar ist, der Armlehnen hat und dabei gelenkig ist. Ein Möbel, das man wegstellen kann und Gästen anbietet, ohne es als Provisorium zu verstehen.

Die Realisation des D7 wurde eine starke Allianz: In Martin Bereuter von der Tischlerei Bereuter im Bregenzer Wald fand der Designer einen starken Partner zur Umsetzung. Ganz in der Tradition der Neuen Vorarlberger Bauschule lässt auch Tecta das filigrane Möbel bei Tischlermeister Bereuter heute ausarbeiten. Schon längst ist das Handwerk aus dem Bregenzer Wald über Vorarlberg hinausbekannt. Die Region steht für ehrliche Materialien, für die Verbindung aus Vergangenheit und Zukunft, für Formensprache und Konstruktion.

Tecta D7K Hamburg-2018
Tecta D7K Stuhl

D7K und D7

Der neue Stuhl D7 von Klemens Grund passt in das Denken und die Konstruktionsweise von Tecta. Er ist kinetisch klappbar, veränderbar, zugleich gibt es ihn als feste Variante (D7). Den Klappmechanismus aus Messing versteckte Klemens Grund nahezu unsichtbar im Hinterbein, eher schönes Detail als technische Notwendigkeit. »Die meisten sind durch das Klappbare überrascht, fast wie bei einem Zaubertrick«, beschreibt der Designer. Dazu besitzt der D7 noch eine Besonderheit, die die Geistesverwandtschaft zu Tecta zeigt: Ähnlich dem Klappsessel D4 von Marcel Breuer (von 1927) erhält der Stuhl D7K zusammengeklappt und an der Wand lehnend eine fast skulpturale Qualität.

Material & Farbe

Gestell:
Eiche natur, geölt
Nussbaum natur, geölt

Beschläge aus Messing

Polsterung:
(Optional) Sitzkissen Naturfilz, grau meliert

Maße (cm)

Breite: 65
Tiefe: 50
Hohe Rückenlehne: 80

Klemens Grund (*1982) ist Tischlermeister. Nach seiner Ausbildung studierte er Design. Im Anschluß arbeitete er bei Peter Zumthor. Das architektonisch-konstruktive Denken, welches die Kollektion von Tecta auszeichnet, findet sich in der Arbeit von Klemens Grund wieder.

Weitere Grund-Produkte

Fotos: Thomas Ternes, Constantin Meyer